The University of Manchester’s charitable status is derived from the Charities Act 1993.

As a recipient of substantial public funding and by virtue of our educational objectives, we’re considered an exempt charity. As such, we’re responsible to Higher Education Funding Council of England, which is charged, as our principal regulator, with monitoring our compliance with charity law obligations.

Public benefit

We’re responsible as a charity to act for the public benefit in all our activities. Our objects, set out in our Royal Charter (PDF document, 21KB), are “to advance education, knowledge and wisdom by research, scholarship, learning and teaching, for the benefit of individuals and society at large”.

You can read more about our commitments and achievements in these areas in our statement on public benefit and social responsibility (PDF document, 121KB), extracted from the financial statements for the year ended 31 July 2012.

Trustees of the University

The trustees of the University as at 1 September 2013 were as follows:

  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, FRS FMedSci, President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Ms Grace Skelton, General Secretary of the Students’ Union
  • Mr Anil Ruia, OBE, JP, DL, Chair of the Board of Governors
  • Mr Robert E Hough, DL, Deputy Chair of the Board of Governors
  • Mr Michael Crick, BA
  • Mr Stephen Dauncey, BSc, FCCA
  • Dame Susan Ion OBE, BSc, PhD, Feng, FIMMM, FINucE
  • Councillor Mohammed Afzal Khan CBE
  • Mr Paul Lee, DL, MA, LLM
  • Mrs Christine Lee-Jones, JP, DL, MA
  • Dr Neil McArthur MBE
  • Mr Neville Richardson, BA, FCA
  • Dr Brenda Smith, BA, MBA, Dlitt, ACA
  • Mr Andrew Spinoza, BA, MCIPR
  • Dr John Stageman, OBE, PhD
  • Dr Angela Strank, BSc, PhD
  • Professor Collette Fagan, PhD
  • Professor Maggie Gale, MA, PhD
  • Professor Andrew Gibson, MEng, PhD, DSc, FIET, SMIEEE, CEng
  • Dr Reinmar Hager, MSc, PhD
  • Dr Caroline Jay, BSc, PhD
  • Professor Chris Taylor OBE, BSc, PhD, FREng
  • Professor Pamela Vallely, BSc, PhD
  • Ms Iram Kiani, BA
  • Dr Pamila Sharma, BSc,MSc, PGDip, PhD, MBiol

The following members of the Board of Governors have declared trusteeships as follows:

Name Trusteeships
Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, President and Vice-Chancellor Member, Manchester International Festival Board
Professor Rod Coombs, Deputy President and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Non Executive Director, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Professor Colette Fagan Elected office, Chair of Board of Governors, Chorlton Church of England Primary School
Mr Robert E Hough Trustee, The Greater Manchester High Sheriff’s Police Trust
Mr Paul Lee Chairman, Royal Exchange TheatreFeoffee (Trustee), Chetham’s School of Music
Mrs Christine Lee-Jones Non-Executive Director, Walton Centre for Neurology and Neurosurgery NHS Foundation TrustGenesis Breast Cancer Prevention Charity

Henshaw Society for the Blind

Greater Manchester High Sheriff’s Trust

Dr Brenda Smith Non Executive Director, Central Manchester University Hospitals Foundation Trust
Ms Grace Skelton Trustee, University of Manchester Student’s Union

Linked charities

The University of Manchester completed a review of linked charities in 2011. The review resulted in the declaration in the financial statements of one linked charity: The Friends of the Whitworth.

Contact us

The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
M13 9PL

Tel: +44 (0) 161 306 6000

Betpasgiris.vip restbetgiris.co betpastakip.com restbet.com betpas.com restbettakip.com nasiloynanir.co alahabibi.com hipodrombet.com malatya oto kiralama istanbul eşya depolama istanbul-depo.net eşya depolama papyonshop.com şehirler arası nakliyat evden eve nakliye ofis taşıma transfernakliyat.com.tr heceder.org 30 tl deneme bonusu aviator oyunu betexper casino siteleri kamyonet.biz.tr tuzcuoğlu nakliyat malatya temizlik pdf indir ingilizce türkçe çeviri lyrics translate video eşya depolama depolama